Santa Rosa Assemblywoman Noreen Evans is out as Budget Committee chairwoman but joins the Democratic leadership as majority whip under assignments announced today by the new speaker, John Pérez.

The move serves several purposes. Evans, who is term-limited and running for the state Senate, won’t have as many conflicts between budget hearings and her campaign.  Pérez, who made a whole series of appointments, can reward those who supported him for speaker. And Evans is present for the transition to a new budget chairman. She keeps her seat on the budget panel.

Also on the committee are Assemblymen Wesley Chesbro, D-Arcata, and Jared Huffman, D-San Rafael.

Chesbro becomes chairman of the Natural Resources Committee after previously presiding over the Environmental Safety and Toxics Committee.  Huffman remains chairman of the Water, Parks and Wildlife Committee.

Chesbro and Evans also retain their seats on the Government Organization Committee, which has jurisdiction over alcohol, gambling and tobacco, making it one of the great fundraising platforms in the Legislature.

— Jim Sweeney